Architectural Design Awards

2017 Architectural Design Award Competition

Eligibility:  The program is open to architects who are members of the Potomac Valley Chapter, the DC Chapter, and the Northern Virginia Chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA).  The architects and the projects must be located in the Washington, DC metropolitan area.

Format:  Architects are asked to submit projects in the same format as the AIA Awards program:  36-inch foam core panels suitable to attachment and stacking.  Awards program boards may be used.

Project Eligibility:  Architects are encouraged to submit any project which uses housing subsidy funds other than the mortgage interest deduction and which provides assisted housing to more that 30% of its residents.

Awards:  A cash award will be made to the project judged best in the affordable housing categories of

(a) New Construction, defined as having been completed in 2014 or later

(b) Renovation or Rehabilitation of existing housing, completed in 2014 or later 

Entries in the renovation category must include “before” and “after” photos.  Entries will be exhibited and awards will be presented at the 24th annual Affordable Housing Summit to be held on Friday, May 5, 2017 from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. at the Bethesda North Marriott Hotel and Conference Center.  There is no entry fee.


Submission Deadline:

Boards are due 5:00 pm, Friday, April 14, 2017

at Bennett Frank McCarthy Architects,

1400 Spring Street, Suite 320, Silver Spring, MD, (301) 585-2222.


Click here for Application Form


For more information please email or call 301.520.1587.

Boards will be returned to Bennett Frank McCarthy Architects for pickup beginning Monday, May 15, 2017.

Sponsored by: